Cherry = Popped

 

Yesterday, May 25 2009, at 20.26 (Japan Standard Time), I felt the earth move.

 

It was a strange, nauseating experience.

My head swam, my stomach lurched, sweat broke out.

My face turned bright red.

My heart pounded and I was breathing fast.

I thought I might pass out.

 

My first earthquake.

 

I was teaching a high school class at the time, explaining the difference between a dramatic romance and a romantic drama in terms of film genres.

 

It didn’t even occur to me that it might be an earthquake.

I thought I was fainting, and I started trying to work out how many hours it had been since I had last eaten.

As far as I could tell, nobody else reacted.

 

Once I had recovered I asked the class – “Earthquake?”

None of them knew the word.

I mimed “earthquake” with my hands.

“Mmmmmmmm. Yes.”

“Phew. My first earthquake.”

“Your first time? Eeeeehhhhh! Sugoi!”

 

Cue spontaneous round of applause.

 

 

 

(Sugoi means great/wow.)

 

ETA – Checked online just now – 4.6 on the Richter scale, if you’re interested.

Leave a Reply

